Advanced Imaging Society Creates VR Awards

Advanced Imaging Society Creates VR Awards

Jon Favreau will receive the Harold Lloyd Award for filmmaking when the Advanced Imaging Society and its sister Virtual Reality Society hand out its 8th annual Lumiere Awards, which this year has an expanded set of VR categories.


Mulithyphenate Favreau recently directed Disney’s The Jungle Book and created the Gnomes & Goblins VR experience with Wevr and Reality One. His credits also include Marvel’s Iron Man and Iron Man 2, as well asChef and Elf. Previous Harold Lloyd Award recipients include James Cameron, Ang Lee, Victoria Alonso and Jeffrey Katzenberg.


Also during the ceremony, Cher Wang, chairwoman and CEO of HTC and creator of the HTC Vive VR system, will be presented with the organization’s Sir Charles Wheatstone Award. And the Society’s Century Award will be presented to Google Earth VR.


The ceremony — which will be held Feb. 13 at Warner Bros.' Steven J. Ross Theater — recognizes work in 3D, high dynamic range and new this year, an expanded group of VR categories.


That includes VR for a film experience, whose nominees are Fantastic Beasts (Warner Bros., Google, and Framestore VR Studio), Ghostbuster VR Experience (Sony Pictures, The Void), Star Wars: Trials on Tatooine(ILMxLab), Suicide Squad: Special OPs VR (Warner Bros. Mob Scene & Atlas Entertainment, MPC VR and Legend 3D); The Jungle Book-Through Mowgli's Eyes Part I: Trust in Me (Walt Disney Studios and Tangeine Apps) and The Martian VR Experience (20th Century Fox, Fox Innovation Lab, RSA FIlms and The Virtual Reality Company.)


A complete list of categories and nominees can be found here.

Related articles

VRrOOm Wechat